Menu
American seeking work in China...where do I start?
May 19, 2007 22:52
  • FREECLIMBER
Hi everyone. I want to work in China. I'm an American and do not speak Chinese yet. I have an MBA from Carnegie Mellon University and enjoy marketing, sales, and business development. Do I have a chance to work in China without knowing how to speak the language? If so, where is a good place for me to start looking for jobs?

Thank you so much for your help.
- Freeclimber
May 19, 2007 22:57
  • LIONPOWER
Teaching job good for you. Search the University.
May 20, 2007 01:29
  • FREECLIMBER
Thank you for your help. What about opportunities in the business sector?
May 20, 2007 06:15
  • APAULT
The skills are sure needed here, but most don't know it! Actually, understandable, massive growth without advanced techniques, so they can use such things for the second wave.

Not many jobs obtainable here I think. Most business jobs are peopel sent here for a period of time from their home employer. Otherwise look through the sites that advertise university jobs here.

Or bring your money and start a business...if you dare!! (In many ways!!)
May 20, 2007 07:46
  • LIONPOWER
Yes Paul, you are right.
If you have money, start business like me. Doing business in Chinese items since 1992.

MBA suitable for business sector. Problem, owner of the firms very weak or unknown in English. So they prefer Chinese people for their close helps. You can't get suitable job for you. Job they will offer you, I think not suitable or match your status. Have a try---?
May 20, 2007 17:33
  • WCTMAN
-----------------